New SUMMER 2024 shows and movies have been added!
Sword Art Online (TV) Reviews
Sword Art Online
2119
Title(s): Sword Art Online
γ‚½γƒΌγƒ‰γ‚’γƒΌγƒˆγƒ»γ‚ͺンラむン (Japanese)
Creator: Reki Kawahara
Genres: Action, Fantasy, Romance
Age Group: Older Children (May contain mild bad language, bloodless violence)
Vintage: July 7, 2012
Status: Still Airing
Summary: The only way to escape is to 'clear' the game. Death in game means actual 'death' ----

The ten thousand who have logged onto the as of yet mysterious game 'Sword Art Online' using their Nerve Gear have been forced into this perilous death game and are trapped inside.

Protagonist Kirito, one of the many gamers, has greeted this 'truth'.
He plays as a solo player in the giant castle that is the stage for this game ---- 'Aincrad'.

To meet the conditions of clearing the game and leaving this twisted virtual world, he must get through all 100 floors. Will Kirito have what it takes to clear the game, or will he die trying?
Reviews
Summary: (391 reviews) Write A Review
Excellent 344 reviews
88%
88%
Good 25 reviews
6%
6%
Average 12 reviews
3%
3%
Poor 1 review
0%
0%
Very Poor 8 reviews
2%
2%
Page of 2
Review: A non-fanboy version
Written by lovemesomeanime on May 20, 2014 at 1:42 AM
Overall Rating
Average
Story: 2
Dialogue: 3
Animation: 5
Entertainment: 3
As many knows, this anime has been very popular among viewers, but this DOES NOT make it anywhere as good as they say it. It has lots of flaws, which becomes blatantly evident in the 2nd half of the show. But this does not take away the entertainment.

Anyway, let's start off with the characters first. The characters is probably the weakest thing about this anime. Most of them, come and go and are forgotten by the next episode, they are that forgettable. The main male character, Kirito is stereotypical. Calm, good at everything he does, gets (read more)
8 out of 23 people found this review helpful.
hmmm.. read the book
Written by chuculaingt on January 31, 2014 at 3:31 AM
Overall Rating
Average
Story: 3
Dialogue: 3
Animation: 3
Entertainment: 3
Book better... watch anime once, very good. After reading book, average..
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
I gave up at episode 11
Written by madcat9 on November 23, 2013 at 4:42 AM
Overall Rating
Average
Story: 3
Dialogue: 2
Animation: 5
Entertainment: 1
Who wasn't impressed at the 'die here die in real life' idea at the beginning? I'm sure it's been done before, but this was amongst the new generation of anime, and I was eager to see what fresh world would be before us on this adventure, and what new things to see.

I followed every episode as they came out: rich graphics, sweet mechanics and it seemed things would go the right way. I must admit I sort of expected the grimness of an Urobochi tale, or perhaps some form of epicness in character like so many anime have to offer, but I was sorely (read more)
3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
sword art online
Written by sleepyrounin on August 19, 2013 at 1:00 PM
Overall Rating
Average
Story: 2
Dialogue: 4
Animation: 4
Entertainment: 3
pros
+ fast and furious first arc
+ interesting side characters
+ pretty good animation and classic music
cons
- jumpy first arc with plot holes, and don't get me started on that second arc
- stereotypical main character
- a helluva lot of bugs

conclusion: here i go, with the most overhyped anime of the past year. heck, it wasn't even so bad back when it started, fast and furious, reminding me a bit much of .hack and hxh greed island, but at least good. the animation's up-to-date, never mind a good couple bugs (background animation, frames); (read more)
10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
why its ended like that?
Written by ubhex on April 20, 2013 at 11:50 AM
Overall Rating
Average
Story: 1
Dialogue: 2
Animation: 4
Entertainment: 3
first SAO is very good story,
but, WHY??
in middle of story the story change... it become easier to guess, it isn't become interesting anymore..

i hope SAO had longer series like others.. but, well yeah that's a life...unpredictable
7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
First 1-11 epsiodes
Written by kom34 on January 30, 2013 at 3:08 PM
Overall Rating
Average
Story: 3
Dialogue: 3
Animation: 3
Entertainment: 3
This anime is allright the first episodes are good and it will keep you hooked. However i didnt like that all most none of the characters the main character meets or befriends stay with him through to the next episode. The anime can be kind of hard to follow and i lost complete interest in it after about the 13 episode because it changes( can say what changes without giving spoilers). Another reason i lost interest was because it appeared that the characters forgot what they were suppose to be doing at times and they would be distracted something (read more)
6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
Dissapointing...
Written by ardyp4 on January 12, 2013 at 5:08 AM
Overall Rating
Average
Story: 2
Dialogue: 3
Animation: 4
Entertainment: 2
SAO is actually a very promising anime, too bad it has only 2 episodes. What? It's 25? No seriously, it's only 2! The first 2 episodes! The others are just crap. Don't watch the rest of the episodes. It ain't worth your timr
4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
its watchable
Written by erikatakeru on January 11, 2013 at 9:10 AM
Overall Rating
Average
Story: 3
Dialogue: 3
Animation: 4
Entertainment: 3
hey people,

so, let me review this series a bit. i first took interest with SAO, when i browsed through anime access, i found out that this anime was among the most downloaded one so yeah i gave it a check. into the series, it was fun first, though you pretty much can predict that its just like the other story which you needs to clear the game then you can be free from VR. everything trapped inside. yeah, its a bit predictable. like i said it was fun, with the level up, some action scenes, adventures and unique stuffs was pretty nice. but, yeah (read more)
8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
Sword Art Online
Written by ElricKyoudai on January 10, 2013 at 10:42 AM
Overall Rating
Average
Story: 2
Dialogue: 2
Animation: 4
Entertainment: 2
Ever since I read about this anime, I couldn't wait to watch it. And then it finally came out, the first episode wasn't disappointing. In fact, it had me looking forward to the second episode quiet eagerly. But unfortunately, this anime turned out to be disappointing. The action scenes were way too small, the characters were not very impressionable. This would've been a great anime, given its unique plot. It turned out to be quiet a failure.
6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
Good but a bit overrated
Written by theman773 on December 15, 2012 at 4:04 PM
Overall Rating
Average
Story: 2
Dialogue: 3
Animation: 4
Entertainment: 3
Sword Art Online seems to be the big show for this season and it was also written by the same guy that made Accel World.
First off, I'll start with what's good about the show. The battle scenes are awesome due to the style of the animation and how smooth it looks. The first few episodes introduced a dark, grim, and interesting world where the players are forced to create their own little society where most of them are focused on getting out of the game alive. The show made me feel like I would enjoy to play an mmo like that where most of the economy (read more)
11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
Page of 2
Popular Anime
Top Contributors
Top Contributors
satoshiandkinki 68,882 files
Nanilist 56,826 files
smf 26,294 files
rension23 14,587 files
10,792 files
Little_Wolf-18 9,112 files
Numisma 4,054 files
Zenixus 4,028 files
manalosana21 3,740 files
lanaiblur 2,792 files
Recent Reviews
Tasuuketsu
Anyone who has ep 2. Can you please upload. Thank you
DN Angel
Excellent
Black Butler
this anime was so fucking faggoty and bad that it has made me decide to give up my life on the internet, shortly after writing...
Majin Tantei Nogami Neuro
they butchered the real manga plot which is pretty dissapointing,but in return they made everyone a goofball which is entretaining
Kami-sama no Memo-chou
goog
Kaijuu 8-gou
WE WONT NEED GODZILLA & ULTRAMAN ANYMORE! THE HUMAN TODAY CREATED POWERFULL WEAPON TO DESTROY IT! I TNINK THE WEAPON THEY...
Re:Monster
i enjoy this anime
Tensei shitara Slime Datta Ken
Can anyone kindly upload the next episode. Thank you
Hajime no Ippo: Kimura vs. Mashiba (OVA)
very good
Mobile Suit Gundam: Suisei no Majo
NO !!!