New Spring 2024 Anime series & movies have been added!
Ayakashi - Japanese Classic Horror (TV) Reviews
Ayakashi - Japanese Classic Horror
980
Title(s): Ayakashi - Japanese Classic Horror
Creator: Toei Animation
Genres: Fantasy, Horror, Supernatural
Age Group: Mature (May contain sex, drugs, and extreme graphic violence)
Vintage: January 13, 2006
Status: Completed
Summary: A collection of three classic Japanese horror stories: "Yotsuya Kaidan," the story of a wife betrayed by her husband who seeks vengeance even in death. "Tenshu Monogatari," the story of forbidden love between a goddess and a human, and "Bakeneko," the story of a mysterious cat monster with a vendetta against a certain family. [MAL]
Reviews
Summary: (8 reviews) Write A Review
Excellent 2 reviews
25%
25%
Good 3 reviews
38%
38%
Average 1 review
13%
13%
Poor 1 review
13%
13%
Very Poor 0 reviews
0%
0%
ohmy never miss
Written by ayya072696 on February 16, 2013 at 8:43 AM
Overall Rating
Excellent
Story: 5
Dialogue: 4
Animation: 4
Entertainment: 5
vastrolade means good anime
17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
Horror my ass
Written by fantasyfreak-1 on December 19, 2012 at 10:59 AM
Overall Rating
Average
Story: 3
Dialogue: 3
Animation: 3
Entertainment: 3
I was so dissapointed in this series. I am a great fan of the horror genre, and the japanese are well known for their high quality horror stories. Also setting it in feudal Japan, makes for so much material. But this wasn´t that good. At best it was mediocre, and at worst it was laughably boring. There were a few scary moments, and they had good concepts, but overall, the execution of it was very lacking, so I can´t in good concience give it more than an average.
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Classic Horror Of Japan
Written by Orhideja on November 17, 2012 at 10:52 AM
Overall Rating
Good
Story: 4
Dialogue: 4
Animation: 4
Entertainment: 4
I like this type of horror, it shows less bloodshed, more mistery and intriguing spooky story. Animation style is very artistic. I have to say main cast (seiyuu) did job perfectly! We see a three different stories. First part painted brutaly realistic, with feeling of disturbance in the story, second is fantasy horror genre with a love story and the final arc is something special. The last part is introduction for season 2.
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
remember the folklores
Written by fateaverruncus on October 8, 2012 at 9:55 PM
Overall Rating
Excellent
Story: 5
Dialogue: 5
Animation: 5
Entertainment: 5
this when i first saw this anime i was wondering if it was great or something because of the art style.

being a child and all, the graphics were strong and heavy. so i could only be pre-judice about this all because of the art style.

the story was deep and hard to take it.

commonly the heaver the style and detail it would strain the eyes and mind trying to watch. and less interesting.

gladly in less than no just watching the op of the series i immediately got hooked. that having low expectation and proven wrong.

like "gankutsuou" (read more)
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
good
Written by mizul89 on September 20, 2011 at 1:07 AM
Overall Rating
Good
Story: 4
Dialogue: 4
Animation: 4
Entertainment: 4
good
5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
Ayakashi - Japanese Classis Horror
Written by Mthunzi_Booi on March 1, 2011 at 1:14 AM
Overall Rating
Good
Story: 4
Dialogue: 5
Animation: 1
Entertainment: 4
I have never really watched a lot of horror anime in my life and was pretty excited to try out something new. It sounded fairly interesting at first so I decided to give it a try

The first thing that hit me was the animation. It is not of a good quality like most of the mordern anime series. This gives the impression that the series is quite old and may have been created quite some time ago.

The story is split into three short stories. There isn't much to them and they are each fairly entertaining to a certain extent. If you the kind (read more)
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
Crapy Horror -.-'
Written by DragOzma on November 6, 2010 at 6:19 AM
Overall Rating
Poor
Story: 2
Dialogue: 2
Animation: 1
Entertainment: 1
Don't be fooled!
When i download this anime, i was hoping for some great horror stories...instead it was a great waste of time!
I'm not saying that these aren't scary stories. I'm just saying that it ain't that scary to me! And frankly, i think all of the characters in this anime are just too damn "dense"! The story is a little confuse in a way you wonder "why the heck did he do that?!" o.0 probably i don't understand very well cause the story unfold in the ancient Japan, and their costumes are WAY~~ too diferent from european.

Anyway i saw (read more)
6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
Popular Anime
Top Contributors
Top Contributors
satoshiandkinki 68,392 files
Nanilist 56,826 files
smf 26,294 files
rension23 13,352 files
10,792 files
Little_Wolf-18 9,112 files
Numisma 4,054 files
Zenixus 4,028 files
manalosana21 3,740 files
lanaiblur 2,792 files
Recent Reviews
Hajime no Ippo: Kimura vs. Mashiba (OVA)
very good
Mobile Suit Gundam: Suisei no Majo
NO !!!
Mobile Suit Gundam 00 First Season
not as good as seed but good
Kono Subarashii Sekai ni Shukufuku wo! 3
Very good show. Can we reupload. The file is having issue. Please and thank you.
Ga-Rei -Zero-
I like the anime
Undead Girl Murder Farce
The combination between solving the mystery cases dan full pack of action. Hoping it not end here...waiting for next eps...
Boku no Kokoro no Yabai Yatsu
C
Sokushi Cheat ga Saikyou Sugite, Isekai no Yatsura ga Marude Aite ni
D
Akuyaku Reijou Level 99: Watashi wa Ura-Boss desu ga Maou dewa Arimasen
Done
DearS
Excellent